Steps to Obtain a Real Estate Broker License in Utah

Getting a broker license in the state of Utah involves fulfilling a number of requirements and completing an application with the Utah Department of Commerce, Division of Real Estate. Applicants for a real estate license must be at least 18 years old, have a high school diploma or equivalent, and must pay a non-refundable fee of $158.

Statutory Licensing Qualifications

Utah law establishes a number of character qualifications for anyone seeking to obtain a Utah real estate broker license. These attributes include honesty, integrity, truthfulness, reputation and competency. To prove these characteristics, a qualification questionnaire is administered as part of the application process. Applicants must not have been convicted of a felony within five (5) years preceding their application. Applicants must not have committed any misdemeanor involving moral turpitude such as theft, fraud, misrepresentation, dishonesty or violence within the last 3 years.

Experience

To qualify for a Utah real estate broker license, individuals must accumulate a minimum of 60 documented experience points within the five-year period prior to applying. Experience points tables are located in Utah’s Administrative Rules. In addition to the experience points, applicants must also have at least three years of active, licensed real estate experience in accordance with Experience Tables established in the Utah Administrative Rules.

Education

Lastly, before submitting an application for a Utah real estate broker license, candidates must take 120 hours of approved education at a school certified by the state. The 120 hours must include at least 30 hours under the category of Utah law, 45 hours of Broker Principles and 45 hours of Broker Practices. Candidates must take and pass the Utah State Broker Exam as administered by an approved testing vendor.

Once the above requirements are met, candidates may gather their documentation and begin the application process. With the application, candidates must submit their fingerprints to the licensing board and also must certify that they are lawfully entitled to work in the United States and the State of Utah.

Share!
    Shares