When someone is arrested for driving under the influence, they can often feel overwhelmed, especially if it is the first arrest and they are not familiar with the process. Because most all states are cracking down on DWI laws, it is imperative defendants know their rights and seek help from a Dwi Lawyer in Nassau County NY. Being represented by a lawyer can make a big difference in the process and affect the outcome a person obtains.
Understanding the Law
It is imperative defendants have a good understanding of the DWI laws in their state so they will know their rights and what they can expect from the process. The more a person knows about the laws, the better equipped they will be to work with their Dwi Lawyer in Nassau County NY. The following offers some information on the DWI laws in the state of New York.
A DWI charge in the state of New York is issued when the driver’s blood alcohol level measures .08 or higher. A first offense of DWI requires the defendant to lose their license for a period of six months to one year. First offenses do not carry any minimum jail time, but it is possible for a person to be required to serve up to a year in jail. The fines for a first-time offense can range from $500 to $1000.
It is easy to see the state of New York is determined to work towards encouraging individuals to make the smart choice and avoid driving while they are under the influence. A conviction of DWI can negatively affect a person in both their personal and professional lives. Working with a lawyer can help to minimize the implications of a conviction and may even help reduce the charges or get them dropped, depending on the case.
Get Help Now
If you are in need of legal help for your DWI charges and would like to learn how a lawyer can help, visit the website. Contact The Law Offices of Joseph J. Perrini III to ask about a consultation appointment. Allow them to help you through the DWI legal process.