The state of Pennsylvania adheres to rules and regulations set forth in Act 24 as it pertains to drunk driving. This act provides the now standard blood-alcohol content reading to apply in the state. It further allows law enforcement to arrest any violators on the scene of automobile accidents or traffic stops. If you are charged with a DUI after acquiring a blood-alcohol content reading of 0.08 percent in Pennsylvania, you need to hire a Criminal Attorney.
How DUI is Defined in Pennsylvania
First, the blood-alcohol content reading determines the level of intoxication. This reading additionally implies whether or not the charge is a general impairment or aggravated. General readings range up to 0.09 percent. Higher readings range from 0.10 to 0.15 percent. Any reading that is 0.16 percent or higher is classified as aggravated. Regardless of charge all individuals convicted of DUI are required to attend both traffic school and an alcohol or drug treatment program.
A first-time offense of a general impairment incurs a period of no more than six months of probation. The fine is $300. The first offense for a high blood-alcohol content charge is a one year license suspension, forty-eight hours to six months in county lockup, and fines between $500 and $5,000. Aggravated DUI as a first offense incurs one year license suspension, fines between $1,000 and $5,000. The second offense for general impairment is one year license suspension, fives days to six months in county lockup, and fines between $300 and $2,500. For high BAC, they also have a one-year suspension, their fines begin at $750, and an ignition interlocking device is required at their expense. Aggravated DUI on a second offense charge incurs a first degree misdemeanor; they receive immediate eighteen months license suspension.
Sentencing ranges fro ninety days to five years in prison, and upon release they must install an ignition interlocking device, which is mandatory for one year. Third DUI offenses are misdemeanors and incur fines up to $10,000. All fourth offense charges are classified as felonies and will require prison time upon conviction. If you are charged with a DUI charge, you should contact a Criminal Attorney at Coates Coates & Coates PA immediately.